Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp 1 and Tokenizer — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp 1 and Tokenizer

joekamphausjoekamphaus Posts: 4
edited 2008-10-23 00:48 in BASIC Stamp
I am a programmer but am a novice at the micro controller stuff. I have been asked to
make a gui interface to control features in a BS1. As I see it this can be done one of
either 2 ways. Serial communication or using the tokenizer.dll to reprogram the eprom.
The serial cable will not always be connected. In order to use SERIN to get data from the
PC I must be able to pole serial port for data in a loop. This must have a fairly short
timeout which apparently I cannot do with the BS1. As near as I can tell I will be unable
to use the tokenizer.dll with a BS1 either.

Is there any way to do this or are my assumptions correct? Should I suggest my client upgrade to a BS2?

Thanks

Joe

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-06 20:01
    All of the Stamps are single-threaded and their I/O is unbuffered. The net result is that you can't do more than one thing at a time unless you can interleave it in some fashion. It doesn't work well for a PC to attempt to poll a Stamp for information because the Stamp can miss the serial input if it's doing something else (other than waiting for a command from the PC). The best way to handle this is for the Stamp to poll the PC for a request. Perhaps the Stamp sends a "?" when it's ready to do something, then waits at a SERIN for a request (without a timeout). The PC always sends a response, either a request for specific data or something that indicates that no request is pending. The Stamp either reads some sensor and sends a response or waits a short time, then goes back and sends another "?".

Reprogramming a Stamp using the tokenizer is very time consuming. I don't recommend it as a way to control a Stamp.