Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Java development on the Propeller — Parallax Forums

Java development on the Propeller

Daniel B.Daniel B. Posts: 5
edited 2008-09-08 20:07 in Propeller 1
  • Would it make sence to consider Java development on the Propeller?
  • It would certainly require development of an Java interpretor?
  • But consider the capabilities that it would be unique in a Java environment.
  • For development, might an existing code interpretor be ported?
  • And lastly, would special classes be required to make use of the Propeller's capabilities?

Comments

• simonlsimonl Posts: 866
    edited 2008-09-05 10:00
    I can't answer all your questions - I'm not a Java programmer - but I do believe that 'jazzed' did a fair bit of work on this some months ago. I can't find the thread at the moment though.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheers,
    Simon

www.norfolkhelicopterclub.com

You'll always have as many take-offs as landings, the trick is to be sure you can take-off again wink.gif
    BTW: I type as I'm thinking, so please don't take any offence at my writing style smile.gif
  • Peter VerkaikPeter Verkaik Posts: 3,956
    edited 2008-09-05 10:47
    See this thread:
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=703261

Near the last post you will find the latest package including the jvm.
    Java code development is done using the Javelin IDE.

regards peter
    ·
    edited 2008-09-05 12:46
    My apologies Peter - my memory's not what it used to be, and I've obviously been reading loads of posts by jazzed! Of course it was you who did the Java work smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheers,
    Simon

You'll always have as many take-offs as landings, the trick is to be sure you can take-off again wink.gif
    BTW: I type as I'm thinking, so please don't take any offence at my writing style smile.gif
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2008-09-05 16:56
    Simonl,