Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need some assistance in setting up servos on Protoboard — Parallax Forums

Need some assistance in setting up servos on Protoboard

MegaSpinMegaSpin Posts: 9
edited 2008-09-13 16:58 in Propeller 1
Hello,

I'm new to working with boards, but I'm doing my best. I'd like to set up a servo to my board. I understand where the four servo ports are. The board's manual says: "Install the shorting block on the first·header(next to the 3.3 volt regulater) to choose the servo supply."·So that means I should short the Vin and the adjacent pin?
Then, how do I control the servo? Is it on an I/O port? Or do I use a different command to control it? (I use spin.)

Also, will the servo recieve 5 volts? Currently, my board is hooked up to a 9 volt battery. Should I swap it for a 6 volt?

Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-05 01:28
    1) Servos are designed to work properly with voltages between 4.2V and 6V. They'll work up to 7.5V although higher voltages will tend to cause accelerated wear on the motor brushes. The Protoboard's 5V regulator will work nicely with input voltages of at least 6V and preferably 9V or less. I recommend using 6V (4 alkaline batteries or 5 NiMH rechargable batteries).

2) You can run servos off the regulated 5V supply, but the regulator can provide only about 1A and servos can each draw that for a peak current when starting under mechanical load or when stalled out. You can probably manage with two servos running from the regulated 5V supply, particularly if they don't both start at the same time.

3) There are 3 wires to a servo, ground, + power (4.2V-7.5V), and a control signal line which goes to the Propeller pin, preferably through a 1K resistor which dampens noise. Read the "Robotics with the BoeBot" tutorial for more details on servos.
  • MegaSpinMegaSpin Posts: 9
    edited 2008-09-05 02:18