Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stemp acting eraticaly after several hours of operation — Parallax Forums

Stemp acting eraticaly after several hours of operation

LuXo12LuXo12 Posts: 31
edited 2008-09-06 01:58 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone
I am new to basic stamp so please be gentle.
Here is a description of what I am trying to do
I am currently working on a project where my basic tamp has to detect a status of another device (status of that device is determined by that device's led being on or off)
and based on the status the basic stamp should perform two functions.
The high signal is supplied to pin 0 by a relay (i used relay instead of a dip switch) that is controlled by a photo-resistor that is hooked up to the led it is monitoring.
The device my basic stamp is to monitor would be powered for close to 12hrs in day and off for another 12 hrs therefore the signal on pin 0 would be either high for 12 hrs or low for 12 hrs.

My program seems to be working fine for about first 2 hr after that it seems to be "restarting" and detects a low at pin 0 even though pin 0 is reeving high signal, only does that for about a minute as minute later (pin 0 detects high when pin 0 is receiving high)
This application has to be running 24/7 so my question is: Is it OK for pin 0 to be receiving a high impulse for about 12 hrs non-stop and then low for another 12 hrs?
OR
Is it does my code contain some sort of a syntax error that causes this behavior?

Here is my code

CounterOn VAR Bit 'To indicate status of Led 1= led On | 0 Led = Off

CounterOnOff VAR Bit 'This variable is used to display status Off - ONLY AFTER DEVICE HAS BEEN TURNED ON BEFORE

CounterXOn VAR Nib 'This variable is used to prevent program from constantly performing function when device is ON
I forgot to mention that once the status changes program is to perform the function only once!

CounterXOff VAR Nib 'This variable is used to prevent program from constantly performing function when device is OFF