Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help-not sure about holes on propeller proto board — Parallax Forums

Help-not sure about holes on propeller proto board

MegaSpinMegaSpin Posts: 9
edited 2008-08-31 02:08 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I'm new at working with boards. My question is related to the innermost "holes" (for lack of a better term) on the Parallax Proto board. The holes marked P0-P31 are I/O ports, right? And VDD holes supply 3.3 volts? What about the ring of holes just next to those? Are they I/O ports or power? Also, where would you attach simple things that just need power and not I/O, such as LEDs or a piezo speaker?

Thanks!

Comments

• HarleyHarley Posts: 997
    edited 2008-08-30 21:54
    MegaSpin,

If you look closely at the TWO rows of holes/pads around the Prop area, you'll note each pair away from the Prop are connected on the top side; use a multimeter to verify this if needed.

The rest of the other holes away from the Prop are unused; for use for what ever purpose needed. A very useful breadboarding area for us Protoboard owners.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Harley Shanko
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-30 22:13
    Other pre-determined "holes" are marked on the top surface. Power (Vin / Vdd / +5V) and ground are available along the edge of the board next to the regulators. There are "holes" next to the space for the servo connectors for connecting to them. There's an obvious ground bus running vertically on the right side of the board (with the regulators towards the top and the power connector to the left).
  • MegaSpinMegaSpin Posts: 9
    edited 2008-08-30 22:30
    Harley said...
    MegaSpin,

If you look closely at the TWO rows of holes/pads around the Prop area, you'll note each pair away from the Prop are connected on the top side; use a multimeter to verify this if needed.