Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Big Robot No Brain — Parallax Forums

Big Robot No Brain

DarkcornerDarkcorner Posts: 7
edited 2008-08-31 20:42 in BASIC Stamp
I am kinda new to basic stamp My bots are on 75MHz and have video senders
My quesion is when the bot reaches its range limit it can it switch to a basic stamp program
to shut down to a safe mode .keep in mind that these are rather large and powerful.
also to extend my range·can a·75MHz receiver send·pwm comands to a basic stamp and·it be intergated into a hacked transmitter for a homemade relay station
the tx signal is controlled by variable resistors and I need 7 or 8 channels
any one got any idea where·to start with a limited buget and lots of spare parts

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-30 21:48
    You would need to provide a lot more information about your bot to be able to answer your questions.
    When you say PWM, what do you mean? That could be standard R/C servo control pulses or something else.
    How do you anticipate "switching over"? How would your bot know it's out of range? What are the PWM
    signals controlling?
  • DarkcornerDarkcorner Posts: 7
    edited 2008-08-31 19:45
    These bots are tank type steering with snowblower trac system and wheelchair motors running at 24 volts with standard hoddy type hitec 75 MHz 8 channel reciever controlling two IFI 883
    also the other bots use vantec controllers and one with a robotec controller
    standard r/c servo control pulses control these fine and they can be plugged right into the basic stamp just like a servo
    letting plenty of amperage to the DC motors thru these controllers
    with the video sender power at 5 watt. I geuss you might concider them full sized unarmed battlebots used for survallance
    however when the bot reaches it's range limit they somtimes start to behave erratic