Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
filter for zero crossing determination — Parallax Forums

filter for zero crossing determination

pemspems Posts: 70
edited 2008-08-30 16:26 in Propeller 1
Hi crew, need some help

Here is the problem: I am trying to come up with a solution on a prop to reliably determine zero crossings in various vr-sensors' signal. (has to be compatible with different models/makes of vr sensors)
In practice, there may be quite a bit of noise picked up by the signal wire, which could result in 'fake' zero crossings which absolutely must be filtered out (as some critical operations depends on those zero crossings).
As the vr-sensor reads motions of a large mass mechanical device, the transients shouldn't be that great (perhaps that would help with separating noise from real signal). The signal itself is in the range of 500 to 20,000 HZ

I'm only starting to learn about signal processing and applying it in practice, so please take it easy on me and any help in that direction is welcome.

Thank you

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2008-08-29 22:07
    A voltage comparator with hysteresis is probably the simplest way to do what you want. You can set the hysteresis band to be wider than the noise amplitude to eliminate false triggers. Be aware, though, that any filtering, whether it be hysteresis, moving-average, or some other method, will impose a delay on the zero-crossing output.

-Phil

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    'Still some PropSTICK Kit bare PCBs left!
  • pemspems Posts: 70
    edited 2008-08-29 22:27
    Thanks Phil

Comparator with hysteresis has been tried and still led to fake zero crossings. Besides, i would like to create a system that would be able to adjust itself to different 'flavors' of vr signal. Consider that noise amplitude (the dangerous 'fake' spikes) can be same as the real signal amplitude.