Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How difficult is this and will this even extend the i/o's of the BS2 — Parallax Forums

How difficult is this and will this even extend the i/o's of the BS2

fredroxfredrox Posts: 4
edited 2008-09-13 03:13 in BASIC Stamp
I am putting together an led animation like neon on signs and I need to extend the io's of the BS2 I have for an ideal situation. I am new to programming and building circuits but this project is fairly simple. I also want to incorporate stereo sound but the voice module I found is currently unavailable any ideas?

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-08-25 03:22
    Give us more info and ask your original question.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-25 04:52
    Look through the Nuts and Volts Columns that are downloadable from Parallax. Go to their main webpage and select the Resources tab and you'll see a link to them. Several are on various ways to expand the Stamp's I/O capability. They include discussion, schematics, and sample code.

Look at Vinculum's VMusic2. It's a USB memory stick drive with an MP3 player. It uses the same controller chip as Parallax's USB memory stick datalogger and the existing sample code also works with the VMusic2. The MP3 play commands are similar to the data commands.
  • fredroxfredrox Posts: 4
    edited 2008-09-12 04:24
    hello mike,
    this is jeff I just received the vmusic2 and I am a little confused. The schematic on the viniculum website says to communicate with the micro controller I need another chip that I switch with the stamps outputs to play, skip, and stop the player. Can the vmusic2 be connected directlty to the BS2?
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-12 04:38