Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Looking for some examples. — Parallax Forums

Looking for some examples.

SpeedySpeedy Posts: 2
edited 2008-08-27 04:04 in BASIC Stamp
Hello All,

I'm new to the program writing for Basic stamps and I'm trying to find a few coding and build·examples.

What I'm trying to do, is build my Homework stamp to connect too and record too Excel the following.

1). Record Temperature via thermalcouple or LM 35·one hundered times per·seconds.

2). Record Pressure readings from a transducer·one hundered times per·seconds. " 30mv Max output "

3). Record Postions via wiper potentiometer·at least one hundered time per second. " 0 to 5v "

·I have gone through the owners build manual and completed all the projects. Now its time to put this thing to work and I'm struggling. Anything, web site ect.. that you could point me to would be greatly app.

[noparse]:)[/noparse]

·

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2008-08-25 02:29
    Not sure if a BS2-class chip can keep up with your minimum 100 samples per minute rate. Are you trying to measure all 3 (temp, pressure and 0-5V) at 100 samples per minute? That's obviously 300 samples per minute or more; only ~3 milliseconds per sample. Dat's fast.

The easiest way to use RCtime is with·variable resistance sensors, but the execution time varies. Lower resistance=faster execution; higher resistance= slower execution, since you're timing the voltage in a capacitor bleeding off through a resistor. So to minimize execution time, you want small cap and resistance values, which will require some experimentation. You could speed up execution time by lowering your resolution, but that's counterproductive.

Remember that·every RCtime starts with a 1 ms delay to charge the capacitor, leaving you·(at most)·2 ms for·reading and writing or serially transmitting the data, both time-intensive processes for a BS2 chip.··I'm sure a Propeller chip will be better able to support your high·sample rate.