Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Two IR LED one IR reciver — Parallax Forums

Two IR LED one IR reciver

LutamosLutamos Posts: 26
edited 2008-08-26 02:43 in BASIC Stamp
Hi I am new to this forum it all seems promising for help with my question. Soo anyway Um like the title says I am wanting to just use one Ir receiver and two Ir led and I was wondering how I would go about programing that cause I am a newbie to programing the basic stamp. I have the Boebot USB kit.
I got my idea from this peace of hard ware I bought but I could never get it to work at all. www.lynxmotion.com/images/Products/Full/irpd01.jpg

Thank, you very much
Lutamos

Comments

• GICU812GICU812 Posts: 289
    edited 2008-08-24 19:58
    Well most IR recievers work at 38.6 Khz, but yours could be diffrent.

I dont know what you want to do, my first impression is that you want to monitor two diffrent break points with one reciever. In that case, you just use diffrent modulations. One LED would send hi-low-hi-low-hi the other hi-hi-lo-lo-hi-hi They would have to fire one at a time, so 1 - 2 -1 -2 - 2. So it wouldnt have the best response time, but it would still be measured in ms.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2008-08-24 20:01
    This is exactly how the collision detectors in Parallax' Scribbler robot work. One center mount IR receiver looks for alternating signals from IR LEDs mounted on the left and right side of the robot. The software pings a left IR pulse out, looks for a reflection, then pings a right IR pulse out and looks for a reflection. Works fairly well, uses 3 io's as implemented. Well-documented in Scribbler (perhaps also Boe-Bot) literature and software online. Alternatively, you could have a dedicated oscillator onboard (555 timer or equiv) continuously pinging out both sides simultaneously and have 2 IR receivers, just using 2 input pins.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·"If you build it, they will come."
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-24 20:05