Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Calculate Average data - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

Calculate Average data

2»

Comments

• NauketecNauketec Posts: 51
    edited 2008-08-25 15:02
    Hey Zoot

I have been removing the coments but·until this stage I needed them to tell me what bits were being sent/received between micros.

now that that is settled, I have removed them.· I am still a newbie and learning how to switch them on and off is a real time saver.

I will be back in 4 hours to continue working but for now off to pay the rent ...

Daniel
  • ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2008-08-25 18:00
    Yeah, conditional compilation is really handy. Another tip -- when you do turn debugs on, keep them as short as possible -- the more text you are transmitting (DEBUG does not use a very fast baud rate to the PC) the longer it takes (relatively).

Have you tried this code? Unless you've changed the word variable i2c data or your get ranging code, it should drop into your current program w/o change....

Note that with 70ms ranging time, plus code overhead for the rest of the program, you may not do better than 3 loops per *second* with this program, which is a bit slow. Filtering bad or fluctuating readings in the logic of your mode choice section may be better than dropping 300ms to average the sonar readings. Again, the SRF10's ranging time can be cut way down if you cut the usable range and set the gain appropriately. At 3meters max the ranging time should be closer to 20ms or so (remember the longer the max range, the longer the ranger is waiting for a possible echo to return -- and sound really doesn't travel all that fast).

'===========================================================
    '  Sonar Ranging

i VAR NIB
    sonarRange VAR WORD

GetMax_Range:
    sonarRange = 0
    FOR i = 0 TO 3

' SRF10 Ranger
      I2cAddr = $e0
      I2cReg = 0
      I2cData = 80        ' Ranging command - 80 for inches, 81 for cm, 82 for uS
      GOSUB  I2cByteWrite