Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to send 7 cases and read 7 cases — Parallax Forums

How to send 7 cases and read 7 cases

NauketecNauketec Posts: 51
edited 2008-08-24 18:12 in BASIC Stamp
Howdy,

I have a project that uses 2 BS2P40 micros.

I need to send 0 to 7 cases out from one micro to be read by the other.
Unfortunately,· The pins chosen are off by a bit (no pun).·

The first micro uses ports (not pins) P1, P2, P3 to send data out, (there is nothing on PO, it was a mistake).

The·second micro uses ports (not pins) P0, P1, P2 to read data in. (P3 is used as an output)

I think what I need to use is the INA and OUTA commands but not sure how to filter out the unsed ports.

I would really appreciate any help but please use comments for I am a newbie.

Thanks

Daniel

Comments

• ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2008-08-21 22:33
    So you are setting the number you want as the 3 pins and just reading them all in one shot?

DIRA
    INA
    OUTA

Are your friends here. Each of the above represents some aspect of pins 0-3 (let's presume for discussion that you have the correct IO bank on the BS2p set.

' for reading on P1, P2, P3 -- the first micro
    myVal VAR Nib ' the number 0-7 coming in on the above pins

DIRA = DIRA & %0001 ' this makes p1-p3 inputs and leaves p0 untouched
    ' dira bits are set if that pin is an output, cleared (0) if input

DO
    myVal = INA >> 1   ' grab the state of 4 inputs pins (0-3) at once shift all the bits one place right -- %0110 would become %0011
    ' that pesky bit0 (pin0) just drops off the face of the earth
    DEBUG DEC1 myVal, CR
    LOOP

' for reading on P0, P1, P2 -- the second micro
    myVal VAR Nib ' the number 0-7 coming in on the above pins

DIRA = DIRA & %1000 ' this makes p0-p2 inputs and leaves p3 untouched
    ' dira bits are set if that pin is an output, cleared (0) if input

DO
    myVal = INA & %0111   ' positions of pin input bits are OK, but we don't want pin3, so mask it off