Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Declaring new objects — Parallax Forums

Declaring new objects

David A.David A. Posts: 2
edited 2008-08-21 02:53 in Propeller 1
Hi All,

I'm a beginner spin coder, so I need some help. I'm trying to create a LinkedList object
which would allow a user to store a dynamically sized list of objects or variables (could be
wrapped if necessary). My questions are, is it possible to create a pointer to a generic object
(the type of which is unknown)? Are nulls ever encountered in spin and if so, how are they handled?
Also, is it possible to declare a new instance of an object within a Pub or Pri method?

For example:
VAR
   ?Pointer/Object? currentNode
OBJ
   headerNode: "LinkedListNode"
PUB init
   currentNode := headerNode
PUB add(object) | nextNode
[b]
   currentNode := ?new? "LinkedListNode"
[/b]
   nextNode.setContents(object)
   currentNode.setNext(nextNode)

(BTW: I'm coming from a Java perspective, so if there are any comparisons you can make, that would
be great).

Thanks,
David

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-20 03:05
    No, there is no way to create a generic object in Spin. You could create a linked list node object that simply contains a pointer to an arbitrary piece of memory, but the linked list node object would then deal with arbitrary pointers which is a specific case.

You can't declare an object within a method. They're all global to the object. All parameters and local variables for a method are longs. You can declare arrays of longs as local variables, but that's the only exception.

Spin is not a general object-oriented language, particularly it doesn't have dynamic types of any kind.
  • scanlimescanlime Posts: 106
    edited 2008-08-20 05:16
    It seems to me that there are actually three distinct issues within your question:

1. Generic objects