Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to BASIC Stamp - Need Help — Parallax Forums

New to BASIC Stamp - Need Help

DeeLuxxDeeLuxx Posts: 14
edited 2008-08-21 06:04 in BASIC Stamp
Hi there,

I'm a 5th form student at Sacred Heart College, in New Zealand and am currently taking electronics as a subject.

My main assignment this year is "to extend the use of an existing technology"

My existing technology is the Vmusic2 module and i choose to extend it by designing and building an aircraft data logger that will record (so far) g force on 3 axis, temperature, humidity and possibly altitude. i am using a Picaxe 28X1 for the main microcontroler.

I ordered two sensors from parallax, the Hitachi H48C Tri-Axis Accelerometer Module and the Sensirion Temperature/Humidity Sensor.

Both of these sensors use the SHIFTIN/OUT commands which are an absolute nightmare to use on the picaxe so after weeks of messing around on the pixace forum and futile attempts at bit bashing i am seriously considering ordering a BASIC Stamp module because, as i understand, the source code can be downloaded for each sensor and dropped straight into the programmer without any modification to the code - apart from subbing in the appropriate pin numbers - is this correct?

I am really sick of getting nitty-gritty with code and just want to get the sensors going in as little time as possible (i have to hand this in soon)

What is the CHEAPEST stamp setup that would work with these sensors.

I already have lots of breadboards, components (resistors, capacitors etc.. ) a seriall programming cable and everything else.

Can you program the stamp without another development/programming board?

Any help would be greatly appreaciated.

Thanks

Comments

• sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2008-08-19 11:07