Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Measure external 24 presence without current flow? — Parallax Forums

Measure external 24 presence without current flow?

PDSAZPDSAZ Posts: 5
edited 2008-08-15 04:28 in BASIC Stamp
·Hi everyone,
I am still learning and getting up to speed and appreciate all the help here!

As you can tell I am a novice so thanks for your understanding.

I have·a 24V DC external circuit.· I need to see if there is 24 volts present on this circuit with out shorting pins 1 and 2?·

in the attached drawing if Q1 is open.· How would I measure the voltage without closing the circuit to pin 2?

Basically it is just to tell me that 24v is present so I can light up an LED with the stamp indicating voltage presence.

I have looked a at a couple of circuits but, am scared of doing the wrong thing and killing my stamp.

Any suggestions?

Thanks all!
640 x 340 - 12K

Comments

• metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2008-08-15 00:52
    I don't understand your schematic. You have 24 volts positive terminal connected to the collector and the 24V ground to the emmiter and nothing connected to the Base of the transistor. You need a resistor to the base and a load between the positive terminal and the collector.

Your·R2 should be about 750ohms with the 3K that gives you 4.8V at about 6mA so that will show a HIGH value on the stamp pin.

So connecting your + side of your external circuit through the resistor divider is correct.

If there is a chance the voltage can spike higher than 24V (motors are being driven, lighting strikes or static charge, you may wish to use a 4.8V zener or TVS diode from the stamp pin to ground as well and you have to make sure R2 is grounded and won't get disconnected (on a breadboard for example, oops) or you will have 24V going to your stamp pin!

Remember the grounds of both stamp and the external device must be common. (connected together)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Think Inside the box first and if that doesn't work..