Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Beginner: Motorised Camera Pan and Tilt — Parallax Forums

Beginner: Motorised Camera Pan and Tilt

Dr_ZoomDr_Zoom Posts: 3
edited 2008-08-18 06:30 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I'm new at this, and need some help getting started on my project. I have done a lot of programming before, but nothing like this.

I would like to build the following:

A small unit that can pan and tilt my camcorder (350 grams).
It should fit on top of my tripod and fit in a 1.0" pipe. ( I know.. tiny)
I should be able to have wireless control (via remote control or wifi or Bluetooth ect)
It should be able to program it. ( Eksampel: if I press "1" on the remote control then turn left 5° at x speed and 3° up at y speed)
Run on batteries

How do I get started? Can I use the "BASIC Stamp 2 Module" as my core? What motor(s) should I choose?

Thank you for any and all help!

Comments

• patterson7019patterson7019 Posts: 25
    edited 2008-08-13 17:42
    Can't help with wireless yet, but the stamp can do all of what you want. A couple servos like the Parallax (Futaba) Standard Servo. Not sure what the load capacity is on them, but if you need more, you might want to get the Parallax Servo Controller (Serial) which also lets you set the speed the servo should move. I use controller now, and really like it since I don't have to worry about the frequency I am updating the servos at.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    http://perfectaperture.com/robb
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-08-13 18:16
    Sounds like you are trying to make a cheap platform to make professional camera pan system. The size requirements will make everything difficult, but if you are willing to stretch it a bit the standard size servos would work fine. Your minimum dimensions would be about 2*4*2, not including the camera or powersource. However, this would be very cramped and a bigger system would be fine.