Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controlling multiple Ping sensor — Parallax Forums

Controlling multiple Ping sensor

Kh3ldrinKh3ldrin Posts: 11
edited 2008-08-14 12:00 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys, i am very new with robotic stuffs·and got·a couple of questions to ask regarding BS2.
I read through the functionalities of the BS2 and its written in 1 of the segments that the BS2 can source and sink up to 30mA of current per I/O pin, so what does source and sink means?
Also the total amount of current drawn through the BS2 cant exceed 60mA per group of 8 pins, are these groups of 8 pins meaning pin 0-7, 8-15?
And the last question is how many Ping ultrasonic sensor can 1 BS2 drive?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-12 04:50
    There are two CMOS transistors in a BS2 output circuit, one that connects the output pin to Vdd, the other that connects it to ground (Vss). By connecting the I/O pin to Vdd, it's considered to be "sourcing" current. By connecting the I/O pin to Vss, it's considered to be "sinking" current. I believe a BS2 I/O pin can source 20mA or sink 25mA. The group limits are 50mA per group (pins 0-7 and pins 8-15 each constitute a group). The total amount of current for the entire BS2 is (I believe) 100mA. Since the BS2 uses a PIC16F57 microprocessor, you can download the datasheet for this device from Microchip. The datasheet has the official limits.