Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help a old coot out..... — Parallax Forums

help a old coot out.....

zippyflounderzippyflounder Posts: 38
edited 2008-08-08 22:22 in BASIC Stamp
I am in a bit of a quandry, I have to build a digital clock (seven segment) but its output is through servos. What basic stuff would I need? I am new to this, havent played with a micro in over 10 years so its all really new to me. Thanks in advance

zippy

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2008-08-07 18:40
    Zippy,

We need a little more detail. I take it that the displays are mechanical? Do they need one servo per digit or 7? How many digits are to be in this clock? Do you need continous rotation servos or standard? How exactly do the display work? Give us as much detail as you can.

Once we have a handle on the problem, then we get to solutions. [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Jonathan

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.madlabs.info - Home of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Robot
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-08-07 18:55
    Do you have a picture of the clock part yet? Keep in mind that you'll need a time keeping chip since the BS2 doesn't have a real-time clock.

Perhaps you could use a chip and a GPS: keep it tuned to the rest of the world...
  • zippyflounderzippyflounder Posts: 38
    edited 2008-08-07 19:05
    the output drives the servos which move steel cut plates·in and out to display the time, that part I have handled. I know paralax sells a servo driver boad for the stamp, and 2 of them (32 outputs) will do the job just fine. What I need to know is if I need that clock chip, and then how to code the whole beast togeather. No i dont want anything but the dang clock, thats it for now, down the road who knows.

Post Edited (zippyflounder) : 8/8/2008 7:15:41 AM GMT
    edited 2008-08-07 19:14