Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
voltage questions — Parallax Forums

voltage questions

BadgerBadger Posts: 184
edited 2008-08-08 01:11 in BASIC Stamp
Hello

i have a motor here rated at 1.2 volts at 300 mh .. how do i cut the voltage down to run this motor on a home work board (i am very new to this) any help would be appreciated

Phil king

Comments

• metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2008-08-05 21:42
    What voltage is your main supply you wish to drop to 1.2V and I think you mean 300 mA (milliamp)
    Do you want battery power supply or wall wart that plugs in to mains?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Think Inside the box first and if that doesn't work..
    Re-arrange what's inside the box then...
    Think outside the BOX!
  • BadgerBadger Posts: 184
    edited 2008-08-05 23:24
    Hello

i am using the bs2 stamp i think it is either 5v or 3.3 volt i want to be able power this motor from the bs2 i guess is what i am trying to say

Badger
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-08-05 23:36
    You can't power this motor from the Stamp itself. It takes too much current. The BS2 runs off a 5V regulator, either one on the development board (which can usually supply 0.5 to 1A) or a regulator on the Stamp module itself (which can only supply 50mA total). You still need to reduce this voltage to 1.2V. An LM317 adjustable regulator (available from RadioShack) will usually put out 1.2V if its adjustment pin is grounded. Check the datasheet for the LM317 which you can download over the internet. You'll need to switch this on and off which will require a small relay or power transistor. Look at the Nuts and Volts Column #6 which you can find through the Resources tab on Parallax's main web page. It discusses the use of transistors for switching motors, relays, etc. with a Stamp.
    edited 2008-08-05 23:39
    Hello