Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Anybody use ICCV7? — Parallax Forums

Anybody use ICCV7?

ArcManArcMan Posts: 3
edited 2008-08-01 15:31 in Propeller 1
I'm going to get into Propeller Chip programming for my robotics hobby.· I'm an old PIC C writer and would like to program the propeller in C.· Has anybody used the ICCV7 compiler?· Does it work well?
·

Comments

• jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2008-07-31 23:20
    The release version works fine.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-31 23:24
    I've got a copy, but I haven't had time to write my own programs in C for the Propeller. What do you mean by "work well"? The compiler works, it's based on a well established / well tested suite of microprocessor compilers. The I/O library is a bit limited to date. I think there's a serial I/O driver and a TV text video driver. What would you like to do with the Propeller? Truthfully, you'll learn more about the Propeller by learning Spin and assembly language given the amount of educational material currently available for that, then use C for your own projects based on what you've learned. It will probably take a year or thereabouts for tutorials and books to begin to be available in C for the Propeller and it will take months at least for more of the I/O drivers to get translated.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,234
    edited 2008-07-31 23:34
    You sound like just the guy ICCV7 was made for! But, as Mike points out the drivers for hardware like VGA, TV, mouse, keyboard, etc., is very limited currently compared with Spin.

I have my own copy too, but haven't found the time to dive in yet.· But, the speed increase (compared to Spin) is enough that I'm sure to do it soon...
  • ImageCraftImageCraft Posts: 348
    edited 2008-08-01 02:26
    > But, the speed increase (compared to Spin) is enough that I'm sure to do it soon...