Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie Question-Best way to play with a Propeller — Parallax Forums

Newbie Question-Best way to play with a Propeller

ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
edited 2008-07-27 20:40 in Propeller 1
Greetings, I'm totally new to this Propeller phenomenon and I'm feeling a bit lost with this object-oriented approach to programming.· I learned how to use the Basic Stamp to a limited degree years ago and found that the Debug feature made it easy for me to learn by trial and error.· With the Propellor I can't seem to find anything I can easily "plug and hug" like the Debug system for the Stamp.· There seems to be an endless varieity of possibilities for the Propeller - TV outputs, VGA, LCDs, etc. - but I get the impression I first have to learn heaps and heaps before I can confidently implement any of the objects for those interfaces.· So my question is this - is there anything kinda like the Debug that I can use without knowing so much?· The PE kit exercises, which employ flashing LEDs, are easy for me to follow, but I'm having a hard time making the leap to things like the DS18B20, etc. without something Debug-like to play with.· Any suggestions?· Many thanks, Mark

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-26 03:13
    There is an object in the Propeller Object Exchange called "BS2 Functions". It implements many of the specialized statements in Parallax Stamp Basic, not necessarily as statements, but as a series of subroutine calls. In particular, there's a series of DEBUG calls that together do most of what you can do with the DEBUG and DEBUGIN statements in Basic. Download and have a look at it. As is true for many Object Exchange objects, the comments explain how to use the routines and may include examples.
  • Bob Lawrence (VE1RLL)Bob Lawrence (VE1RLL) Posts: 1,720
    edited 2008-07-26 03:18
    Simple Debug

Starts UART object in a cog at specified baud rate for debug, using FullDuplex.spin.