Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Small TFT display question — Parallax Forums

Small TFT display question

grasshoppergrasshopper Posts: 438
edited 2008-07-31 00:47 in Propeller 1
I am new to implementing displays, i have had great luck running VGA displays and 2x20 lcd displays using my propeller, but what about this one

search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=73-1325-ND

or this one

www.newhavendisplay.com/pdf/nhd-18-128160yf-ctxi-drawing.pdf

I need a small color display for my new propeller project. Ideas and comments are greatly desired.

Comments

• AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2008-07-24 16:49
    The power supply is a bit complicated, it needs some level shifter, the three colors as 6 bit quantities, and is only available if you buy 1000 ! :-/... well if you can cope with that...

Edit: The other one, 128x160 seems nice, a bit small... but if you get the programming of the controller... and it costs some 10 to 20 € each, it may be a good candidate.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-24 16:50
    Neither of these appear to have a controller. The 2nd one has no interface information. The 1st one looks like it needs a lot of "care and feeding". You definitely don't want to start with these unless you're a "glutton for punishment" and a "strong self-starter".

How about one of the 4D Systems OLED displays? You could even combine the Propeller with the display by using the uOLED-96-Prop (for $80 including a memory card socket).

One other option might be to get a cheap small LCD TV monitor and use the Propeller's TV drivers.
  • grasshoppergrasshopper Posts: 438
    edited 2008-07-24 17:15
    Well I am no gluten for punishment unless forced to be such A.K.A the boss makes me design using one. I did see the 4D system but kind of wanted to learn this on my own accord. Opps i see they sell displays tongue.gif edited**