Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Done with prototype, now what — Parallax Forums

Done with prototype, now what

limetrudelimetrude Posts: 2
edited 2008-07-25 21:28 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am pretty new to basic stamps, so this may be an inane question for which I apologize in advance.

I have completed a small program/circuit to govern rotary position and speed based upon inputs from various sensors and tactile switches... now I want to turn it into something that is stand alone so as to free up my prototyping board for the next project and to allow me to encase the new circuit in a watertight enclosure for actual application. What is my next step now that the prototype is done? I was thinking about getting a small sodder-style breadboard that I can rewire my circuit, but what about the program on the stamp chip? Do I just get a new stamp chip and put it directly on the circuit after programming it? Is there any hub of examples where people have done this?

Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-23 23:44
    A lot depends on what kind of prototype board and Stamp module you've been using. If you're using a HomeWork board, the Stamp is made of several pieces that are permanently attached to the board. You'd have to get a Stamp module and download the same program to it using the Stamp Editor. If you've used something like a Board of Education, the Stamp module is socketed and can just be removed from the prototype board and plugged into some other board. The program remains with the Stamp module although you can always re-download it if you want.
  • kenwtnkenwtn Posts: 250
    edited 2008-07-23 23:49
    I am sure you know this but never hurts to be reminded. Get a 24 pin socket and do not attempt to solder the Stamp to what ever board you decide on.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    When you spend 10 times what it cost to build it yourself - That's when it becomes a HOBBY !