Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
9 LED Resistor Value — Parallax Forums

9 LED Resistor Value

CharosCharos Posts: 7
edited 2008-07-23 18:18 in BASIC Stamp
All,

Attached is the basic schematic for an automotive project my son and I are doing this summer. We are using the 'Homework' BS2 board.

The first part of our project is to measure and control a go-kart engine.

In any case, the design uses 9 LEDs, and I don't want to draw too much current. It is OK if they are not very bright.

Question: What is a resistor value for the 9 LEDs that would not harm the chip? This is R3 in the attached schematic? Is there a calculator for such things? I am a novice with electronicc circuits.

Thanks!

- Bill
575 x 470 - 74K

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2008-07-23 03:14
    It depends on the forward voltage of the LEDs, which will be in the spec sheet. Assuming a modest current of 10ma per LED, the formula for the resistance is:

·····R = (5 - Vfwd) / .010

With a forward voltage of 1.75V, the appropriate resistor would be 330 ohms.

-Phil

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    'Still some PropSTICK Kit bare PCBs left!
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-23 03:27