Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Building a bench power supply — Parallax Forums

Building a bench power supply

jefmjefm Posts: 50
edited 2008-07-20 02:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hi gang,
For numerous reasons I'm building a bench power supply for my BASIC Stamp stuff, which is two of the pro development boards and a couple little regulators now and then. Input is 125VAC output is 12V 5A. I'll probably never use five amps but figure might as well build it big. Everything is actually rated higher then 5A but that's where the meter pegs and that's what the fuse will be for safety.

I'm new to making power supplies, besides the obvious safety stuff is there anything I should look out for? People will probably say "but Jefm why don't you just get a bench supply from the electronics shop". An upcoming project will need a custom power supply, I've never built one before so I made up another project for practice and that is useful. I already hooked up my transformer and got 12v out of 125v, that was fun. I'm a bit confused on how to hook up the five amp LM338K adjustable voltage regulator, so I might connect two 3A Fairchild linear regulators in parallel to get five (six) amps. Or I might go with a whole different voltage regulator. EDIT: wait, duh, do I even need a voltage regulator? The transformer puts out 12V, is it enough to stick a cap across the rectifier and call it good? The book seems content to regulate 12v to 12v so it must be there for a reason I suppose.

The schematic I'm using is from the Microcontroller App Cookbook Volume 2 page 29. Need to find some of those big 3000 uf capacitors, they are expensive. But that's this project, thanks in advance for any help.

Post Edited (Jef Miller) : 7/20/2008 1:39:32 AM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-20 01:42
    You need a good heatsink for the regulators. If you're planning on feeding 5V logic mostly, that's a lot of heat (12V - 5V = 7V x 5A = 35W).