Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New Product (almost) - Forth to Spin compiler — Parallax Forums

New Product (almost) - Forth to Spin compiler

Carl JacobsCarl Jacobs Posts: 41
edited 2008-07-26 11:19 in Propeller 1
Hello,

My name is Carl Jacobs. I've been using the Parallax Propeller for about 18 months, and have enjoyed my time using it. Late last year I developed the hardware for a new product - a data aquisition device - but got a bit stuck with the firmware. Spin code was the right size but too slow, and PASM was fast but difficult to get all the functionality required. And I had no more·cogs left!

The rest of this posting is a shameless add!!

In January of this year I started work on a Forth compiler. It has been a long slow process, and I almost gave up the development when ImageCraft released their C compiler. However, I couldn't bring myself to losing access to Spin and the resourceful Object Exchange.

The product is now very close to being ready for an initial release. I would have waited a little longer before sharing this information except that I got a really great result during testing! It is with great pride (the same sort of pride as that of the father of a new born baby) that I announce the results of my Fibonacci test. I had been doing my testing using GEAR but have started using·real hardware.

GEAR has very·optimistic timing for spin opcodes, with the result being that my Forth interpreter was·FIVE TIMES faster than expected! I've attched FibTest.spin and FibDemo.spin for all those who want to run the test for themselves, but the short summary is as follows:
1) A Spin version·of Fib(28) : 28.69 seconds
2) A pure Forth variation of Fib(28) : 6.48 seconds
3) A Forth + kernel helper word variation of Fib(28) : 2.78 seconds
4) A pure kernel variation of FIb(28) : 0.86 seconds

Full details of the Fibonacci test, and a teaser for·JDForth can be found at:
http://www.jacobsdesign.com.au/software/jdforth/jdforth.php