Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
7 Segment LED digital display woes — Parallax Forums

7 Segment LED digital display woes

RobofiendRobofiend Posts: 3
edited 2008-07-18 23:42 in Propeller 1
Hi, im a very new programmer, and I need some help trying to make the 7 segment LED digital display that I bout at radioshack (http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062557&cp=&sr=1&origkw=7+segment+LED+digital+display&kw=7+segment+led+digital+display&parentPage=search)·work.· I have a propeller protoboard, and I really have very little idea where to start.· I don't really know how to work with the object I found (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/142/), and I dont know if its right.· If anyone could help, or if a post on this subject has already been made, please respond.· Thank you!

Comments

• KamPuttyKamPutty Posts: 48
    edited 2008-07-11 21:13
    Hi Robofiend,

Do this.

Get the 7-segment, and just turn on one of the segments. All a 7 segment is a grouping of 7 LEDs. Make sure to use the correct resister else you will
    burn the LED out...I think the forward voltage is what, 20ma?

Once you can turn on a LED using a batter+resister, you're nearly there!

Now just add the prop...you can connect the + to the res+led and toggle the pin to make the led work.

Now, you have 7 LED's to work with! Normally(?), you would multiplex all 7 segments, just turning on one at a time to make the effect of all of them "no"

ya?

make sense?

If you blow anything up, I never wrote this... shocked.gif

Take care,

~Kam (^8*
  • KamPuttyKamPutty Posts: 48
    edited 2008-07-11 21:14
    oh, I forgot, the 7 segments all share a common ground or + (I did not look at the spec)...you'll see it labeled as "CC" or "CA" (commom cathode, common anode)
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2008-07-11 21:29
    Segments aren't usually multiplexed, the displays are. Since the OP only has one display he won't need any multiplexing, he can just turn the segments on together.

Leon