Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Marketing Thoughts — Parallax Forums

Marketing Thoughts

Nick McClickNick McClick Posts: 1,003
edited 2008-07-14 21:02 in Propeller 1
I'm a hi-tech marketing guy by trade, so I have a tendency to examine others' efforts when I buy their product. A few things I've thought about (at least as it applies to the enthusiast / hobbyist market).

Basic stuff;

Retail distribution is great - I saw a boe bot at fry's (I think it was a boe bot), and it's reassures me that the product I order from your website will be of similar quality.

Build quality, packaging, the storefront, shipping and customer service, and brand reputation are A++. The manual is extremely well written, and it seems written for people of my skill level. Giving the manual out for free download is great. Your website and brand = "The experts for helping hobbyists" and demonstrate your expertise. The selection of products on your store supports that position, too.

For the hobbyist, Propeller competes with playing videogames, watching TV, reading a book, etc. I argue that most prospects don't consider Parallax compared to another µController; they consider Parallax and decide on watching TV or learning SQL or another leisure time activity.

My Experience;

I had considered buying a basic stamp on several occasions, but it looked too hard. I also couldn't think of what project I'd use it for.

I looked at the xgamestation at the classic gaming expo a few years back. I was pretty tempted, but it seemed pricey and too hard. It looked like many hours of work for pretty limited results. I read a sample chapter from the book, and it made is sound even more complicated.

The pre-built robots seem like an attempt to simplify the complexity, but the seemed a little pricey to me (the more I experiment, however, the more I see how reasonable they are).