Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XBox Guitar Button Interface — Parallax Forums

XBox Guitar Button Interface

NosePickerNosePicker Posts: 54
edited 2008-07-29 01:11 in BASIC Stamp
I am thinking this will be very simple for anyone with a little experience but unfortunatly I am a noob.

This is what I want to do.
1. Detect when a button is pressed on the guitar.
2. Programmatically press the button by sending the proper voltage to the proper wire.

Here is what I know.
I have disassembled an XBox guitar controller and have taken one of the buttons and traced the wires back to the source.
I have solidered a wire to each of those leads to be long enough to reach my breadboard next to it.
I have hooked my volt-ohm meter to those wire leads and when the button is NOT pressed the voltage seems to vary between 0.9v - 0.4v.
When I press the button the volts drops to 0v. I know my wires are connected correctly because if I touch the two wires together the game responds as if I pressed that button.

I have a Basic Stamp II in a breadboard and everything is hooked up I can write programs on my Windows XP PC and do simple tests like blinking LEDs, so everything is ready for me to test.

Here is what I dont know.
To keep this thread simple I would like to focus just on how to detect when the button is pressed.
Can someone help me figure out the wireing diagram and then point me in the right direction as far as the code goes.

Thanks in advance
NosePicker

Comments

• Dr. VetterDr. Vetter Posts: 34
    edited 2008-07-09 02:51
    well from the way you have described it
    sounds like its and active low switch (when switch is pressed sends a low or GND)
    as far as wiring diagram your going to have to do some circuit studying (look, follow, measure, write down)
    draw up a diagram, something simple as block1(power) connecting to block2(switch)

now to measure an input you first have to have a input pin(IN#), a main (DO...LOOP), (IF...THEN), and an output pin

Dr. Vetter