Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Temperature measurements — Parallax Forums

Temperature measurements

Chris23Chris23 Posts: 16
edited 2008-07-09 12:28 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone,
·
· I am a student and i am at the·begin of building a circuit for a "smart home" application. I need 8-10 (as much as possible) different·temperature readings, so i can measure the temperature at every room.·I intend to use the DS120 or AD592 probe, but i don't know what would be better for the application. I took a look at the "Applied sensors tutorial", but i got a little confused.
· One nice thing about·DS1620 is that it returns readings directly as digital numbers. But one disadvantage it has is that it is a chip with 8 pins, hard to turn into a probe that can be used apart from a circuit board. An other disadvantage for this application is that i can use only 4 DS1620·temperature sensors,·because a DS1620 needs a three pin connection with the BS-II.·That could eliminate my project's intensions.··
· On the other hand for·every AD592 probe you need one pin connection to the BSII,·but·you use the rctime command, in order to do the necessary calibration. Would that be effective? Would it be better to use a A/D converter to read the AD592 probe ? But, if i do that, 3 pins would be required for every·A/D converter.That could also·eliminate my project's intensions.·
·
Please, any suggestions??
·
Thank you in advance,
·
Chris

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2008-07-08 22:33
    Thermistors are dirt cheap (25-50 cents at Hosfelt) and can be used very simply with the RCtime command. At that price, buy twice the quantity you need and just use the best matched ones so you don't have to have individual calibrations for each sensor. Then the only variable is the length of wire (and associated resistance) per sensor, but you could also make them all the same (maximum) length.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·"If you build it, they will come."