Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Frequency Modulation — Parallax Forums

Frequency Modulation

PFloyd36069PFloyd36069 Posts: 135
edited 2008-07-08 19:09 in Propeller 1
Is there any way to do frequency modulation with the prop? like take the input from the mic or a wav file and transmit it to a radio.

Thanks,

Bryan

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-07-07 03:27
    Look at the application note on the counters (AN001) in the downloads section. You'll need an assembly routine to adjust the counter value to change the carrier frequency according to the amplitude of the audio. The same routine can also do the analog to digital conversion.
  • PFloyd36069PFloyd36069 Posts: 135
    edited 2008-07-07 03:44
    hi mike, thanks for the fast reply... I am very new to the prop (just got the starter kit on tuesday) so i dont know too much about writing my own code quite yet. What will the code look like to do this?
    edited 2008-07-07 04:07
    You will need to use assembly language to do this and that will take some time to learn. There are some tutorials in the "sticky" threads at the start of this forum's thread list. Start with this one (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=663640).
  • Ken PetersonKen Peterson Posts: 806
    edited 2008-07-07 13:46
    I generated some audio tones and sent them to an FM radio some time ago. I just connected a foot of wire to one of the prop pins. I used the counter in NCO mode to generate the carrier and then changed the FREQ setting in real time to generate the audio tone.· That much was all done in SPIN.· As·Mike said, to·modulate the carrier with digitized audio would probably require assembly programming, both for speed and timing precision.