Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
newb question — Parallax Forums

newb question

Bobb FwedBobb Fwed Posts: 1,119
edited 2008-06-25 22:52 in Propeller 1
I am very new to the propeller....eh, just got it this morning.
I am trying to start something simple, something I am familiar with...rctime ... I know there are other objects and whatnot that do the same thing, but I'm learning a new language, so I'd like to figure it out for myself.

I am using the DIP chips on the Propeller RPM.

Here is the code I have:
'' RCTIME test

CON

pin  = 3

VAR

long time1
  long timestack[noparse][[/noparse]6]                         ' stack space for rctime cog
  long dispstack[noparse][[/noparse]6]                         ' stack space for LED display cog

PUB Main

coginit(1, RCTIME(@time1), @timestack)    ' start cog 1 on RCTIME
  coginit(2, Disp_no(@time1), @dispstack)   ' dislpay RCTIME results on cog 2
  repeat                                    ' do nothing for forever

PUB RCTIME(timeAddr) | time                 ' get RCTIME value
  repeat
    DIRA[noparse][[/noparse]pin]~~                             ' set as output
    OUTA[noparse][[/noparse]pin]~~                             ' set HIGH
    waitcnt(clkfreq / 1000 + cnt)           ' wait 1ms
    time := cnt                             ' store current count
    DIRA[noparse][[/noparse]pin]~                              ' set as input

waitpeq(|< pin, |< pin, 0)              ' wait until low again ?I think? ... it seems to work like this

long[noparse][[/noparse]timeAddr] := ((cnt - time) - 3300) / 2000 ' store time to global var and compensate for minimum time and variable size

PUB Disp_no(nfoAddr) | tmp                  ' display binary value to 10 segment LED on PRPM
  dira[noparse][[/noparse]16..25]~~                            ' set leds to output
  outa[noparse][[/noparse]16..25]~~                            ' set leds HIGH (turns off LED...why?)
  repeat                                    ' repeat forever