Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Database support for Spin? — Parallax Forums

Database support for Spin?

bGatenbybGatenby Posts: 1
edited 2008-06-24 12:56 in Propeller 1
I'm a college student so please excuse my ignorance if this is a stupid question.
How might someone go about using a large database upwards of 8 gigs with an embedded system built upon the propeller? Is there a way to manage a database in spin for such a system?
The idea is to make a stand alone unit to process a large database which requires a large amount of computation to derive a value(s) within the database. The end goal will be to use multiple prop chips working together to process the database in a timely manner but the main problems I can foresee is managing the database, how to store said database, and possible bottlenecking at the storage interface. Any input is welcome, really I'm just evaluating options in an attempt to put together a plan in advance.

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2008-06-23 18:45
    The best technique for a database is the B-tree, any good book on algorithms will have the details and there is plenty of C code around. It should be feasible to write B-tree routines in the Spin language. I don't think that the Propeller is suitable for this sort of application, however.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
    Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle

Post Edited (Leon) : 6/23/2008 6:57:19 PM GMT
  • J. A. StreichJ. A. Streich Posts: 158
    edited 2008-06-23 18:48
    As far as DBs go, 8Gigs isn't large, heck that's downright small.
    As far as memory available to the prop, 8 Gigs is enormous.