Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Memory map & ram — Parallax Forums

Memory map & ram

miziomizio Posts: 10
edited 2008-06-23 15:01 in BASIC Stamp
MEMORY MAP...cool.gif

GOOD MORNING
I AM MAURIZIO FROM ROMA ITALIA
SORRY FOR MY BAD ENGLISH

MY QUESTION:
i have a SX28PBASIC with eeprom 24LC128

when i open "BASIC STAMP EDITOR/DEVELOPMENT SYSTEM"
to display "MEMORY MAP",
i see the capacity "EEPROM MAP" is the same of device 24LC16B.
Also, the "RAM MAP" is the same that "PIC16C57C" .
I USE THESE DIRECTIVES FOR SX28PBASIC ...
' {$STAMP BS2sx}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}


I hope that SX28PBASIC with eeprom 24LC128 can have "memory map" and "ram map" great that
PIC16C57C with 24LC16B ? ..... NO?· smhair.gif . I NEED MORE EEPROM.
i hope your answer please...

Tank's
GrazieMaurizio (from Roma - Italia)
smile.gif

Comments

  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-20 10:45
    I need more eeprom for my code list

    grazie
    maurizio
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-20 11:42
    See this Nuts and Volts Column: www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/vol3/col/nv87.pdf.

    There is no way to expand the amount of EEPROM available to a single program beyond 2K bytes. Stamps like the BS2sx
    get around this by allowing several 2K programs ("slots") to be stored in the Stamp's EEPROM. The extra EEPROM can also
    be used for storing data.
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-20 12:33
    ok,
    sorry,
    24LC16B have less memory of 24LC128 ?
    Since, why the "BASIC STAMP EDITOR/DEVELOPMENT SYSTEM" see the same "memory map"?
    also if i put these directives?
    ' {$STAMP BS2sx}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

    I need more memory program
    i need no other eeprom for storing data.

    Grazie
    maurizio
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-20 12:39
    The 24LC16B has 2K bytes of memory (or 16K bits of memory). The 24LC128 has 16K bytes of memory (or 128K bits of memory).

    As I mentioned, the Basic Stamp Editor will always see only 2K of memory regardless of the directive used. The BS2 has one 2K
    "slot" for a program while the BS2sx has 8 "slots" of 2K each. The BS2p and BS2px also have 8 "slots" while the BS2pe has 16
    "slots" of which the first 8 can be used for programs or data and the other 8 can only be used for data.

    There is no way to get more memory for programs. You will have to simplify or otherwise shrink your program or split it up into
    sections as described in the article I mentioned for use in multiple "slots".
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-20 13:17
    i am reading your tip...

    sorry for my bad english

    grazie Maurizio
    from Roma - Italia
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2008-06-20 15:32
    In other words, what you're seeing on the Memory Map is what the IDE will download into the first 2K "slot" of memory.

    I'm not sure how you would see the other 2K "slots", but I'm sure you can use them in your program. See "Multi-Slot" programming.
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-20 17:13
    hello allanlane5

    tanks your tip

    i see the example run1.bsx and run2.bsx so i can see more details argument
    if i have 2 module in my project, i hope to have 26 bytes RAM each module of project.

    tanks

    Maurizio
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2008-06-21 20:02
    No, sorry, you only have a single set of 26 bytes of RAM to 'share' among all memory slots. The "Slots" are to partition the EEPROM into 2K Byte chunks.
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,664
    edited 2008-06-22 01:41
    In the BS2sx you also have 63 bytes of Scratchpad RAM. See the GET and PUT commands. It is not as flexible as the 26 bytes of main RAM, but it is very useful.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tracy Allen
    www.emesystems.com
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-23 05:57
    Good morning
    Here is 7.50 AM o'clock

    are you sleeping smile.gif))

    so i thank you.

    i will try memory ram with many variabile, PUT GET, in many moduli so i can check the capacity ...

    see you later..
    Bye
    Maurizio
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-23 11:01
    After reading helping on GET, PUT commands,
    if i am sure
    i can tell it:
    the memory Ram is always 26 bytes with available simbols
    instead, in the ScratchPad Ram (0 to 62) i can PUT and GET my data
    from each Slot Programm but i cannot have simbols for these locations.

    Well, a question:
    if i have 3 slot programs,
    i can declare in RAM only 26 bytes simbols for all slots programs together (whole project)?

    an example:

    ^^^^^^ step1 ^^^^^
    'Run slot1
    MyVar var byte
    MyVar = 1234

    ^^^^^^ step2 ^^^^^
    'Run slot2
    MyVar var byte
    MyVar = 5678

    ^^^^^^ step3 ^^^^^
    'Run slot3
    debug MyVar 'what value return MyVar? 1234 or 5678 ???????



    Grazie
    Maurizio
  • miziomizio Posts: 10
    edited 2008-06-23 15:01
    my question has been answered with RUN command help.
Sign In or Register to comment.