Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
100+ pwm waves controled from a computer? — Parallax Forums

100+ pwm waves controled from a computer?

timatrontimatron Posts: 16
edited 2008-06-19 20:30 in Propeller 1
I have a need to get 100+ pwm waves that are individually defined from a computer, anyone got any suggestions?

I am an artist and have a need to control 100+ analog panel meters, i've done this before in another project by pushing a pwm wave thorugh a transistor and pushing a load through the panel meter. http://www.timschwartz.org/paris-physical For my new project I will need to have a computer communicate with an array of microcontrolers to control a lot of these meters, like some where around 120.

I've been looking at propeller, because of the many cores, i thought it would be good to get a lot of pwm waves. But now im trying to figure out how to have a bunch of them communicate and still be able to control a lot of pwm outputs. Does anyone have any brilliant ideas? I'm looking for the easiest solution, the more code thats already out there the better. So i guess the question is what communication should i use, and how many pwms will i have to give away with that type of communication. Also, are there better solutions than propeller?

Oh and if anyone is in the souther cal area and interested in working freelance, i would love to be able to offload some of this work.

Thanks for all of your help in advance.

Cheers,
Tim

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2008-06-17 06:13
    It would take five Propellers to handle your 120 meters directly, each driving 24 lines. (Four would be too few, since each would have to drive 30 lines, leaving only two for I/O and EEPROM — not enough.) It would be easy enough to parallel them to one serial data input line from an external computer, letting each one respond to a different address. The Propellers could handle this job with ease. My pwm_x8 object may be of some help.