Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Deeper Water — Parallax Forums

Deeper Water

SteveWoodroughSteveWoodrough Posts: 190
edited 2008-06-14 01:51 in Propeller 1
I want to start by saying that one of the things I like best about Parallax is the training manuals and work books for the Basic Stamp product.· Currently I'm plowing my way through the process control book.· All the stuuf I should have learned the first time in school!·

However, the thing that seems to always drive me nuts with the BS2·is that I can only do 1 thing at a time.· I'm a mechanical engineer, and not always the most savvy when it come to programming and logic tricks.· Attached is a short video of a project I did earlier this year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jI79Xsm_Kyk

A couple folks in the local robot club (Chi Bots) here in Chicago are using the AVR Mega 45's and other AVR chip sets. My questions to you all are:

What are the relative differences between the AVR and the Propeller?

Will the·Propeller allow me to do more than 1 thing at a time?

What is the learing curve like for the Propeller, if it's anything like C, forget it!

Is anything I learned in P Basic applicable to the Propeller code?

What is a good first step to get started?

Is there another more intermediate chip set I should consider first?

THANKS!!! Steve

·

Comments

• Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-06-13 02:54
    I can answer a few of these...

>Will the Propeller allow me to do more than 1 thing at a time?
    Eight cogs allow 8 different processes to function at the same time.

>What is the learing curve like for the Propeller, if it's anything like C, forget it!
    I struggled with C too! SPIN has been a pleasure to learn!

>What is a good first step to get started?
    The PEkit Labs

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

Getting started with the Protoboard? - Propeller Cookbook 1.4