Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with I2C DS1621 — Parallax Forums

Help with I2C DS1621

David E.David E. Posts: 13
edited 2008-06-13 04:28 in Propeller 1
I'm just getting started with the Prop, have been trying some things out, and I am trying to get a DS1621 to work over I2C.

I have it working using the i2cobject demo from the OBEX, and displaying the temperature on a TV screen. No big deal.

However, any of my attempts to actual get the .5 degree resolution have failed. I am only able to get temperature down to 1 degree, even though the device is sending out 9 bits of data. Are return values for objects/methods not allowed to be anything other than integers? I was not able to find clarification in the manual, it says nothing about limitations on the return value.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-12 18:20
    All variables in Spin are integer. The compiler will process floating point constants and expressions, but the 32-bit floating point result is treated as a 32-bit integer. You can use the floating point library to process these values and it will interpret them properly, but that's the only support for floating point at run-time.

You can use the floating point library and convert the 2 byte temperature to floating point or you can represent the temperature as an integer scaled in terms of 1/2 degrees with 1.5 represented as 3 or 11.5 represented as 23, etc.

Post Edited (Mike Green) : 6/12/2008 6:27:05 PM GMT
  • David E.David E. Posts: 13
    edited 2008-06-12 19:47
    Ok, so I cannot do this without modifying the I2C driver? I feel comfortable modifying the DS1621 object from the i2cobject exchange method, but I use the i2c object for other devices as well and do not want to modify it.

pub readTempC : tempC
        ' read temp C (int only.  Not implemented decimal places! i.e. 20 not 20.5)
        if started == true
          tempC := i2cObject.readLocation(ds1621Address, _ReadTemp, 8, 9)