Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ethernet repeater with propnic — Parallax Forums

ethernet repeater with propnic

jeromelabjeromelab Posts: 31
edited 2008-06-13 11:50 in Propeller 1
Hello,

I am seeking advice as I am not an expert in electronics and ethernet.

I have a propnic from ucontroller.com it works great... now my idea is to link several propnic/propeller boards together but without using a Hub or a switch. To name the official ethernet terms, I would like a ring shaped topology instead of a star shaped one. This would mean I have to include in the design a "repeater", so basically I have one RJ45 for input and another one for output/forward. Now all the propnic design with RJ port built-in magnetics etcetera ... I am a bit lost. I googled for finding hub/switch/repeater designs without any luck...

Thanks to all in advance!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-08 16:08
    Ethernet doesn't work that way. You have to have a hub or switch unless you're just connecting two controllers to each other. You would need two NIC's, one for each direction in the ring. There are other network controllers using non-Ethernet protocols that allow for different topologies (like Arcnet), but, with your level of knowledge, you want to stick with standard "off the shelf" stuff.
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2008-06-08 16:35
    10/100BaseT RJ45 hub is the industry standard for various reasons including cost, reliability, jabbering client exclusion, ease of changing client connections, full duplex capability, simple wiring connections for clients. Another technology (10Base2) using BNC T connectors and RG8 coaxial cable was popular for a time that had the ring shape. A cheap shared hub would be much less work and potentially cost less than using a ring like you've mentioned.

Attempting to answer your question directly here without design desirability or practicality bias: