Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe-Bot to propeller based robot advice — Parallax Forums

Boe-Bot to propeller based robot advice

gncguygncguy Posts: 35
edited 2008-06-15 14:34 in Robotics
I currently have a boe bot with two stamp boards in serial connection.· I would like to change it over to a propeller based system.· I need to learn propeller programming.· What is the best set of products to buy.· I noticed that one of the propeller board fits the boe bot but not the one in the propeller education kit.·
Thanksjumpin.gif

Comments

  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-06 03:39
    Here's one example: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=635533.

    You could use SparkFun's breakout board for the xBee if you want to use that rather than Selmaware's. Also note that I used the accessory kit to get a PS/2 mouse and keyboard port and the VGA display port. If you don't use those, you can use the I/O pins involved for the compass rather than adding a PCF9554 I/O Expander as I did.

    BoeBotBasic has a list of the I/O pins used in the comments at the beginning of the program. You can download the latest version from the Propeller Object Exchange.
  • gncguygncguy Posts: 35
    edited 2008-06-06 11:25
    Mike:
    Thanks for the info but it is beyond my knowledge level.· The boards you are talking about are for supporting the XBEE transmitter?· What would I use for the main proto board to fit on the boe bot.
    Thanks,
    gncguy
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-06 13:23
    Please look at the link I gave you.
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-06-06 13:35
    You could start simple... My imitation Boebot didn't use the Boebot frame,
    but you should be able to replicate it easily. Don't worry about the Xbee stuff
    immediately. Carefully add the servo connections to your Protoboard, and
    move it to your Boebot frame. Load Mike's BoeBotBasic to it and you
    should be able to get movement working over the Propplug.

    Then go for things like PING, IR, and Xbee when you have that working.

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

    Getting started with the Protoboard? - Propeller Cookbook 1.4
    Updates to the Cookbook are now posted to: Propeller.warrantyvoid.us
    Got an SD card? - PropDOS
    Need a part? Got spare electronics? - The Electronics Exchange
  • Steph LindsaySteph Lindsay Posts: 767
    edited 2008-06-06 18:08
    Hello gncguy,

    If you do want to start with the Propeller Education Kit, there is an example application where Andy put one of the PE Kit's breadboards on the Boe-Bot chassis.· If you go to the PE Kit Lab page:

    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=617192



    ...scroll down to the Applications section and check out the PEKbot downloads,·discussion, and video clip.·



    -Stephanie Lindsay

    Editor, Parallax Inc.
  • parts-man73parts-man73 Posts: 830
    edited 2008-06-11 00:27
    Sorry I'm late to the thread

    Look at what I've done here http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=691174

    I have one bare PCB left (the one pictured labeled "Protoboardbot2.jpg") if you want it, It's yours for free. You'll just need a Protoboard and a Prop Plug to program it, along with a Boe Bot Refresher kit for the infra LEDs and detectors and the peizo sounder.

    The Proto Board is now available with the USB interface built in, to save you the cost of a Prop Plug, but if you plan on using the Propeller for other projects, I'd suggust getting the Proto Board and Prop Plug separately.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Brian

    uController.com - home of SpinStudio - the modular Development system for the Propeller

    PropNIC - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller! PropJoy - Plug in a joystick and play some games!

    SD card Adapter - mass storage for the masses Audio/Video adapter add composite video and sound to your Proto Board
  • gncguygncguy Posts: 35
    edited 2008-06-15 12:58
    Does anyone have any advice about using the spin stamp on the boe bot board.· I currently have two boe bot boards with serial communication because I could not do all the processing I wanted to do with one.· I was thinking about using the spin stamp.· I believe that it has fewer pins than the full propeller.· In order to do this I need to learn spin.· I thought I would learn it with a propeller education kit.· Then put a spin stamp in my boe bot and transfer the code (accounting for the fewer pins).
    Thanks,
    gncguy
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-06-15 14:34
    The main thing with the SpinStamp is that the I/O pins are 3.3V logic. That means that you should have series resistors in most if not all the I/O leads that you're using. For example, put 1K resistors in the control leads of the servos. Use a 100 resistor in series with the anode of the IR LEDs instead of the 1K normally used with the BoeBot. The cathode end of the LED is connected to ground. Use a 1K series resistor with the IR detectors' output rather than the 220 Ohm used on the BoeBot.

    BoeBot basic was originally developed for use with a SpinStamp on a BoeBot board. You have to change the "clkMode" and "xtalClock" definitions in "BB_definitions.spin" to "xtal1 | pll8x" and "10_000_000" respectively and recompile. The I/O pin definitions are listed at the beginning of "BoeBotBasic.spin".
Sign In or Register to comment.