Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller and RS232 — Parallax Forums

Propeller and RS232

heathclfheathclf Posts: 43
edited 2008-06-05 03:59 in Propeller 1
I'm trying to figure out how to grab a few sources of data with my propeller chip, combine them, and send them to my computer for logging. I'm pretty new to this, but I'm currently motivated, and I'd hate to get stuck this early on.

I just tried to transmit a '1' via a pin from my propeller my chip (using HelloFullDuplexSerial.spin), to my RS232 port, and read it in via Labview. It didn't work out so well. So then transmitted a '1' via my RS232 port (Labview controlled), and my chip both to an o-scope to compare the signals. Why is there such a big difference in the two signals (same baud), and how might I be able to transmit from a pin on the propeller chip to an RS232 pin?

Attached are pics of the two signals, if that helps at all.
556 x 545 - 49K
556 x 545 - 57K

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-05-30 03:11
    If what you did is connect the propeller chip directly to the RS232 port, you may have destroyed the Propeller's I/O pin. RS232 is a signal specification and uses roughly +5V / -5V as the signal voltages, perhaps as much as +12V / -12V, while the Propeller's I/O pins use +3.3V and 0V as their signal levels (which is not RS232 compatible). To match the Propeller's signals to an RS232 port, you need some kind of conversion circuitry. The MAX3232 is one such converter and its datasheets show how to connect it. You can also use the 3-transistor circuit shown on the Propeller schematics webpage. This circuit is not strictly RS232 compatible, but works with most PC RS232 ports.
  • heathclfheathclf Posts: 43
    edited 2008-05-30 04:29