Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reference and phase with the propeller — Parallax Forums

Reference and phase with the propeller

BeauHoundBeauHound Posts: 6
edited 2008-07-07 13:25 in Propeller 1
I am new to the propeller. Can the propeller act as a frequency multiplier/divider? For example, I would like
to input a 60hz ac line reference pulse and ouput a frequency. For example, 60hz in and 60hz/ 30/hz/24hz out which coincides with the 60hz 6 times ps.
I would like to able to set phase delay, duty cycle. I know how to code this (I think) but is this a valid application for the propeller?
How precise can the timing be with low frequencies like these? Another application needed for multiplying to higher frequency would be stepper motor control(ie step and direction) referenced to a pilot tone 50hz, 60hz, etc. Any thoughts ?

Post Edited (BeauHound) : 5/29/2008 11:40:17 PM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-05-29 23:54
    Yes, the Propeller can do this. It would functionally act as a frequency multiplier / divider, but actually would be a frequency synthesizer using the AC reference to reset the phase. The built-in counters would be used for the synthesis with a resolution to 12.5ns (with an 80MHz system clock) and you'd use a zero-crossing detector to track the AC line reference. Another counter could determine the number of system clocks between zero-crossings and that would be used to adjust the times for the frequency synthesizer. The details depend on exactly what you want to generate and the rules you'd want to use for synchronization with the AC line.
  • sjevsjev Posts: 10
    edited 2008-07-03 12:01
    Hi, I've got a comparable challenge that I have been thinking about. This thread is very close to what I need, so I decided to post my question here.

My application is a printer (actually a 3D printer turn.gif) . Currently several propeller boards are being used for motor control and printhead drive.