Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is a propellor practical for this automotive application? (FP!) — Parallax Forums

Is a propellor practical for this automotive application? (FP!)

pr_sjopr_sjo Posts: 3
edited 2008-05-15 22:09 in Propeller 1
Hi all,

This is my first post here so please excuse me if I step anywhere wrong [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I've been watching Propellor on and off for a while now and i'm contemplating using it for a fairly complicated project. I would like your opinions on if you feel it's a suitable choice or not (any potential pitfalls, or other recommendations appreciated).

I want to create a car ECU (engine control unit). I have lots of experience of these, from OE and aftermarket and understand the control strategies etc. (as well as some unique stuff of my own). My previous idea (not unique, but rarely used unfortunately) was to have a multi-tier processor architecture, eg: a master processor to handle comms/sensors/lookup_tables and then secondary peripheral processors to do the control functions (eg, one processor per two engine cylinders etc.).. I was initially contemplating doing this with AVR's (I use BASCOM, and some assembler) but the multi-core approach of the Propellor interests me (for hopefully obvious reasons).

So I can see valid uses for multiple synchronous cores/cogs here; one for comms, one for reading sensors, one or two for driving the outputs, etc.. I think it'd be really good.. However one thing that is seroiusly putting me off at the moment is the lack of integrated peripherals on these chips (please correct me if i'm wrong), eg no ADC's, no external interrupts (so thus requiring a dedicated COG to do software-interrupts), no timers(!), etc.. Perhaps it's just me not being able to get my head around a 'new' way of doing things (is it new? or infact old?)..