Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
to synchronize rs232 signal — Parallax Forums

to synchronize rs232 signal

JohnnyfumiJohnnyfumi Posts: 14
edited 2008-05-12 02:46 in Propeller 1
Hy, i'm sorry if my questions is always so lowly, but i'm just a beginner. So i'm trying· to realize a rs232 interface between propeller and pc. i'm using "FullDuplexSerial" (library) but i think there are some synchronization problem. This is a sample of my code:
······
····· Con
··········· p = $2

·······Obj
··········· fullduplex : "FullDuplexSerial"

·······Pub main
··········· fullduplex.start(0,1,1,9600)
··········· fullduplex.tx(p)

in this way i read on my pc (i open a com port whit java program) two items ( "0" and "2" or if p = $7 i read "0" and "7" ) but·i don't undestand why. Maybe there are some synchronization problem but i don't know how can i solve it. Maybe i have to set in different way any parameters in my code or in "FullDuplexSerial" but i don' know witch can i change.

thank you all

Johnny

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-05-09 22:28
    The comments in FullDuplexSerial.spin describe the parameters:
    PUB start(rxpin, txpin, mode, baudrate) : okay

'' Start serial driver - starts a cog
    '' returns false if no cog available
    ''
    '' mode bit 0 = invert rx
    '' mode bit 1 = invert tx
    '' mode bit 2 = open-drain/source tx
    '' mode bit 3 = ignore tx echo on rx

Do you want the mode to invert the transmit line, but not the receive line? Do you understand what these parameter values mean?

How do you have the Propeller and PC connected?
  • JohnnyfumiJohnnyfumi Posts: 14
    edited 2008-05-10 07:42