Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What Should I buy??? — Parallax Forums

What Should I buy???

CassLanCassLan Posts: 586
edited 2008-05-09 12:47 in Propeller 1
Hi People,

First Post here.
I've been very·busy with work for the past 2 years...and I'm finally getting back to my fun hobby -> electronics / robotics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I can't believe how awesome the propeller chip seems to be.....I'm most excited by the graphical abilities without seperate dedicated chips for the timing etc!!!!!!.
I have been checking out this forum and I'm astounded at the level of complexity this chip can handle as well as the creativity of the folks making it rock.

I'm mostly familiar with PICmicro Chips (16F84..etc)
A·Couple of projects I've done:
MMORPG AutoCrafter:
http://www.ricksbots.com/autocrafter.htm
Small Robot with Sonar:
http://www.ricksbots.com/GalleryPages/IEEEBot2.htm

Anyway, I'm a CCTV technician and I'm very happy with this small LCD screen that I just bought on ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/P145-Mini-2-5-LCD-Monitor-for-CCTV-Reversing-Camera_W0QQitemZ230250437418QQihZ013QQcategoryZ48635QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Its very crisp, has a built in speaker and is just·super small and light....and if you flip the screen it automaticaly flips the picture!! that was a pleasant surprise!!
I got this as a test screen to troubleshoot cameras while on a ladder, but its this screen that has brought me back to my hobby.
I have always wanted to make a very small hand-held oscilloscope / volt meter / current meter etc.
Not·for lab measurements but for "out in the field" problem solving. 1/10 volt resolution is all that I would ever need, and to watch current/voltage spikes etc.
I plan on making an awesome multi-tool around this screen and the propeller chip.
I plan to share all of this when its done because I will never get it done without the free·sharing other people offer on forums like these.