Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Homebrewed PropEducKit/Demo board - seeking some advice — Parallax Forums

Homebrewed PropEducKit/Demo board - seeking some advice

RizThomasRizThomas Posts: 24
edited 2008-05-05 13:59 in Propeller 1
Hello,

I am a newbie and have bought the Prop Educ Kit. However, I decided to hardwire it on a board and while doing it, thought of·incorporating also·other sections from the Demo kit (looking at the schematic) like mouse, keyboard, audio and vga. I also built the Serial connection. I am using this and keeping my proplug safe as backup.

http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mypropeducbrduy3.jpg"

Since I am still learning (newbie) stage on the Propeller, I need some advice:
1. Before Building the other Demo sections, should I permanently connect them to the Prop i/o or should I wait till I am more proficient on the Propeller.
2. If you look closely on the right side of my board, I have a 3-wire jumpers that will connect the Serial on/off from the Proplug (actually connected where my headers for the Proplug is located). Question: Is there a danger of having both connected permanently to the Propeller.

Thanks
RizThomas
640 x 480 - 88K

Comments

• Agent420Agent420 Posts: 439
    edited 2008-05-05 11:05
    I'm just staring out as well... Have you checked out the Propeller Cookbook pdf from the downloads page? It discusses some various io options.

Personally, I prefer the non-permanent ability as I learn... never know when you want to try something out that requires a pin configuration you did not forsee.
  • hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2008-05-05 13:59
    I favour a connection scheme which is 'fixed' but will be fairly flexible in the future. The disadvantage with any self-chosen scheme is that you'll likely need to alter downloaded code to match your hardware.