Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
parallel LCD and 2 cogs — Parallax Forums

parallel LCD and 2 cogs

wolphiwolphi Posts: 8
edited 2008-05-04 01:48 in Propeller 1
I just started programming the propeller chip and I run into a problem which I can't solve.
I am displaying text or numbers on my 8bit 16x2 display using the LCD driver from Simon Ampleman which I found in the Object exchange. Everything works fine until I stated playing with the cogs.

I am using the following 2 files:
' test.spin
OBJ

LCD : "LCD_16x2_8bit"
t : "test1"

PUB main | a
LCD.START
repeat a from 99 to 1
LCD.MOVE(5,1)
LCD.DEC(a)
t.test123
'test123.spin
VAR
LONG stack[noparse][[/noparse]90]
OBJ
LCD : "LCD_16X2_8BIT"

PUB test123 |a
coginit(2,print,@stack) 'start new cog for display
repeat 'count endless
PUB print | a ' count from 1 to 10000 and display on LCD
LCD.START
repeat a from 1 to 10000
LCD.MOVE(5,1)
LCD.DEC(a)

When I start test.spin the propeller counts from 99 back to 1 and it shows the number on the LCD. Then I call the method test123 which starts a new cog and runs the method print. At this point the LCD shows weird symbols. When I call method print without starting a new cog the display shows the correct number.

VAR
LONG stack[noparse][[/noparse]90]
OBJ
LCD : "LCD_16X2_8BIT"

PUB test123 |a
print

LCD.START
repeat a from 1 to 10000
LCD.MOVE(5,1)
LCD.DEC(a)

I need to run the LCD in a different cog because I need to display a variable at the same time when another cog is doing something else.
Any help would be appreciated !!

Thanks,

Wolfgang

Comments

• SeariderSearider Posts: 290
    edited 2008-05-03 15:19