Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
the future of the propeller... — Parallax Forums

the future of the propeller...

omgitsaliv55omgitsaliv55 Posts: 24
edited 2008-04-21 21:30 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone. I've been using the boe bot for about two years now and love it. I've always felt very comfortable developing for it because I know that theres a plethora of documentation out there and someone will almost always know the answer to the question i have (whether that person lives next door or is halfway across the world). When the propeller was first released, I kind of "poo-pooed" the idea of embracing it as something new to learn and just kept on going along the path I was already taking (with the boe bot). After 3 more months, I had pretty much done everything I could with the boe bot without buying some expensive accessory that I would use for a week. I had enough programming experience to understand a language like SPIN, but because of the fact that the propeller was still more geared toward home brew robotics I shied away from it. I figured that if I held out long enough, there would be a kit similar to the BOE-Bot that didn't assume much prior knowledge at all and was geared toward the beginner. I know there are a lot of people who will disagree with me, but it's a little less than two years after the initial release of the propeller and we are only starting to get out of the home brew stage. I'm not bashing the propeller; I think it's great. What I'm saying is that I'd like to see it marketed a bit better.