Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
basic graphics help needed — Parallax Forums

basic graphics help needed

justin weberjustin weber Posts: 36
edited 2008-04-23 19:13 in Propeller 1
I'm just beginning trying to write some form of game on the prop. I've had little to no success in doing graphics. I don't understand how this code works:

CON
_clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
_xinfreq = 5_000_000

x_tiles = 16
y_tiles = 12

paramcount = 14
VAR

long tv_status '0/1/2 = off/visible/invisible read-only
long tv_enable '0/? = off/on write-only
long tv_pins '%ppmmm = pins write-only
long tv_mode '%ccinp = chroma,interlace,ntsc/pal,swap write-only
long tv_screen 'pointer to screen (words) write-only
long tv_colors 'pointer to colors (longs) write-only
long tv_hc 'horizontal cells write-only
long tv_vc 'vertical cells write-only
long tv_hx 'horizontal cell expansion write-only
long tv_vx 'vertical cell expansion write-only
long tv_ho 'horizontal offset write-only
long tv_vo 'vertical offset write-only
long tv_broadcast 'broadcast frequency (Hz) write-only
long tv_auralcog 'aural fm cog write-only

word screen[noparse][[/noparse]x_tiles * y_tiles]
long colors[noparse][[/noparse]64]
long bitmap[noparse][[/noparse]$C01]
OBJ

tv : "tv"
gr : "graphics"

PUB start | i, j, k, kk, dx, dy, pp, pq, rr, numx, numchr

'start tv
longmove(@tv_status, @tvparams, paramcount)
tv_screen := @screen
tv_colors := @colors
tv.start(@tv_status)

'init colors
repeat i from 0 to 63
colors := $00001010 * (i+4) & $F + $2B060C02

'init tile screen
repeat dx from 0 to tv_hc - 1
repeat dy from 0 to tv_vc - 1
screen[noparse][[/noparse]dy * tv_hc + dx] := (@bitmap) >> 6 + dy + dx * tv_vc + ((dy & $3F) << 10)

screen[noparse][[/noparse]14] := %11

'start and setup graphics
gr.start
gr.setup(16, 12, 0, 0, @bitmap)

'clear bitmap
gr.clear

DAT

tvparams long 0 'status
long 1 'enable
long %001_0101 'pins
long %0000 'mode
long 0 'screen
long 0 'colors
long x_tiles 'hc
long y_tiles 'vc
long 10 'hx
long 1 'vx