Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Some questions : Code Protection, instructions timing... — Parallax Forums

Some questions : Code Protection, instructions timing...

octaloctal Posts: 67
edited 2008-04-13 08:45 in Propeller 1
Hi,
I'm new to propeller and I was really estonished by the powerfull architecture of this chip. Really great! All my congratulation to Parallax team.

I'm playing a bit with propeller programming in ASM, and I wanted to ask for some questions:

1- How can we evaluate (or any doc) the number of cycles that will take any asm code, or asm instruction? (in synchronous execution in the same cog of course) I want to make some digital data acquisition at fast rates (about 60 MHz) and measuring data acquisition rates is mandatory for that !!!!

2- Is there anyway to protect the firmware? I want to use propeller for some commercial products and code protection is really mandatory for me. any proposition or hint ?

3- Where to find documentation on propeller comm protocol (with PC) when loading the firmware at startup (during programming)?

Best regards
octal

Comments

• stevenmess2004stevenmess2004 Posts: 1,102
    edited 2008-04-11 10:01
    Welcome to the forums octal.

1-The data sheet is here www.parallax.com/tabid/442/Default.aspx and has the instruction timings in it. Basically hub instructions take between 7 and 22 cycles, jump instructions take 8 cycles if the don't jump and 4 if they do, wait instructions take a minimum of 5 cycles and all others should take 4 cycles.

2-Not easily. This has come up repeatedly in the forums here and you should be able to find the discussions using the search. On that, use this link to search search.parallax.com

3-There is not an official document but this page has the details. propeller.wikispaces.com/Download+Protocol