Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Timer help — Parallax Forums

Timer help

ChemkidChemkid Posts: 2
edited 2008-04-09 01:50 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi, first time user here and I am faced with a little problem.

I am quite new to using a STAMP(BS2SX) so I have not been able to figure this out on my own, and I was hoping one of you could help. I need to be able to identify the amount of time that has passed between two high signals that have been sent to two different input pins( obviously time has elapsed between each high signal) . I have looked through the manual and have not found a simple command which does this, and cant quite wrap my head around a code that can do this.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
Chemkid

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-04-08 22:51
    There isn't a simple command to do this. If the time is on the order of milliseconds, you can test for the first high signal, then set a counter to zero and check for the second high signal. If not present, you increment the counter and do a "PAUSE 1". When the second signal becomes high, the counter has the approximate number of milliseconds that has passed.
  • jmalaysiajmalaysia Posts: 97
    edited 2008-04-09 01:08
    If inputpin1=1 then
    do until inputpin2=1
    timer=timer+1
    PAUSE 1
    loop
    endif